Book Review: Rincey Abraham tells us what Yaa Gyasi taught her about reconciling faith and science
Video / September 25, 2020

Rincey Abraham reviews ‘Transcendent Kingdom’ by Yaa Gyasi and talks about how this book gives insight into reconciling faith and science. ‘Transcendent Kingdom’ is the second novel by the Ghanaian-American writer Yaa Gyasi. Gyasi’s debut novel ‘Homegoing’ was published in 2016 and won the author several awards, including the National Book Critics Circle’s John Leonard Award for best first book, the PEN/Hemingway Award for a first book of fiction, and the American Book Award. #RinceyAbraham #YaaGyasi #BookReview

Transcendent Kingdom by Yaa Gyasi | Book Review
Video / September 15, 2020

Closed Captions [cc] available! Pick up a copy of Transcendent Kingdom by Yaa Gyasi from bookshop.org https://bookshop.org/a/1935/9780525658184 I put up various book-related videos every Friday! Click down below to check out links to other websites. // SUPPORT // I also make videos over on the Book Riot BookTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/bookriotvideo Check out my mystery/thriller podcast, Read or Dead: http://bookriot.com/listen/shows/readordead/ Get some books from Bookshop.org and support independent shops in the US https://bookshop.org/shop/rinceyreads // SOCIAL // Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/278339-rincey Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/rinceya Twitter: https://twitter.com/rinceya

Transcendent Kingdom – by Yaa Gyasi – Book Review
Video / September 1, 2020

Hang out with me as I discuss the new novel from Yaa Gyasi, Transcendent Kingdom! Find a copy from your local indie here: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9780525658184?aff=RachelRae RachelRae YT: https://www.youtube.com/c/rachelrae Twitter: http://twitter.com/rachelraereads IG: http://instagram.com/RachelRaeReads Music by Ryan Little – Lovesick. (Nomad’s Heart) – https://thmatc.co/?l=34849351

A Burning by Megha Majumdar spoiler free book review
Video / July 5, 2020

Synopsis: For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise—to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies—and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India. Jivan is a Muslim girl from the slums, determined to move up in life, who is accused of executing a terrorist attack on a train because of a careless comment on Facebook. PT Sir is an opportunistic gym teacher who hitches his aspirations to a right-wing political party, and finds that his own ascent becomes linked to Jivan’s fall. Lovely–an irresistible outcast whose exuberant voice and dreams of glory fill the novel with warmth and hope and humor–has the alibi that can set Jivan free, but it will cost her everything she holds dear. Taut, symphonic, propulsive, and riveting from its opening lines, A Burning has the force of an epic while being so masterfully compressed it can be read in a single sitting. Majumdar writes with dazzling assurance at a breakneck pace on complex themes that read here as the components of a thriller: class, fate, corruption, justice, and what it feels…

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi || Reading Vlog & Book Review || Historical Fiction, No Spoilers
Video / May 31, 2020

Homegoing (2016) is a powerful piece of historical fiction spanning three hundred years of slavery through seven generations, starting with two half sisters in eighteenth-century Ghana whose destinies are vastly different. Effia marries a British slave trader called James Collins and lives a comfortable life in the luxurious Cape Coast Castle, while Esi is imprisoned in cramped, squalid conditions in the castle’s dungeon before being sold with thousands of others into the slave trade and shipped off to work on plantations in America, where her children and grandchildren will be raised. This is the only the second ever “reading vlog” that I’ve done on this channel, so please give me your honest feedback. I’m personally finding it quite fun to spontaneously film a couple of minutes each day and then put everything together at the end, but if you prefer the more traditional “sit down” book review videos that I used to do before, then please let me know. Or if you think there’s anything I could improve, I’d love to hear. My social media links: Twitter: https://twitter.com/TomesAndTravel Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/tomesandtravel Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/5400547-jack